Dan Dan Mian

Well, it’s been over three months since my last post. We’ve officially moved into the house and have been living there for over two months now! We also went to China for a week with a small group from our church. While we were there worked with a local church and spent a few days on a college campus doing English corners and campus ministry. While we were there we were super blessed to see how God’s been working there!

While we were there we also got to experience authentic Sichuan food. Sichuan food is known a) for being really spicy, and b) for its use of this numbing peppercorn. It’s delicious!

We had a debrief meeting today and we decided it’d be fun to try cooking some Sichuan food with the hot pepper flakes and peppercorns that we brought back.

We made two dishes – 担担面 (dan dan mian), which is a spicy noodle dish, and 糖酥麻辣锅巴土豆 (tangsu mala guoba tudou), which is sweet/salty/spicy fried potatoes.

The recipe I followed for the 担担面 is from The Woks of Life. Since I’ve never made anything like this before, I followed the recipe pretty closely. I measures (almost) everything! Anyone who’s cooked with me before will know that that’s pretty unusual. These days I pretty much never measure anything. The main thing that was different was that I could not find “sui mi ya cai” anywhere in my local Asian grocery store. Despite that, it turned out really well! A great level of spice! Would definitely recommend.

The recipe I followed for the 糖酥麻辣锅巴土豆 (the potatoes) was from this site. The recipe is in Chinese and it’s pretty vague. A lot of the ingredients just specified “one spoon” or “two spoons” but didn’t say what kind of spoons. We cut and fried three potatoes and tossed it in a mix of white vinegar (1 spoon), sugar (1 spoon), ground peppercorns (1/2 spoon), cumin (1 spoon), chicken bouillon (1 spoon), salt (1/2) spoon, and garlic powder/hot pepper flakes to taste.

We made a “spoon” a teaspoon, and since the original recipe was for two potatoes, we did a double batch of the spices. The flavors were really good! The recipe said that it was important to fry the potatoes on low heat, but I think we used too much oil. We ended up turning up the heat at the end to get them somewhat crispy, but I think next time we’ll use less oil to try to get that “锅巴” crispiness. “锅巴” refers to the crispy rice that sticks to the bottom of the pot, so I think less oil will help the potatoes crisp against the wok.

Overall I was satisfied with both recipes and I would definitely make both of them again.

Hopefully I’ll manage to post again before the end of the summer… hopefully!

Leave a Reply

