Chinese Braised Daikon

image

It’s been less than a month since my last post – y’all should be proud of me! The fall always seems like a blur. I feel like I was just making a list of things I wanted to do over the summer and all of sudden it feels like it’s almost winter already.

Thanksgiving is right around the corner and I’m in planning mode. For the last few years I’ve organized a Thanksgiving dinner for people at my church who are in Madison and don’t have family in the area. Each year has gotten progressively larger, but it’s kind of fun. When I was growing up, Thanksgiving was always great – friends, family, and lots and lots of food. And it was always a mix of traditional Thanksgiving food and Asian food! The best of both worlds. So I try to bring that to my Thanksgiving dinners here too.

One thing I like to do every year is a daikon and mushroom soup. It’s basically daikon and shiitake mushrooms simmer in chicken broth. It’s simple, but it’s great because it’s light and cleansing compared to the traditional turkey, mashed potatoes, macaroni and cheese, and gravy.

Daikon in general is pretty great. As long as I can remember I’ve loved daikon. Some of my favorites include the aforementioned soup and this braised beef and daikon dish. I really wanted to make this braised beef recipe tonight, but I didn’t think about it until this morning and it was too late because it takes 2-3 hours for the meat to braise.

So instead I found this recipe because it takes a lot less time to cook just the daikon. I vaguely followed recipe, but all of y’all who know me know that I am way to lazy to measure things so I didn’t follow it all that closely. I also skipped the green onions, minced ginger, and Shaoxing wine. Instead, I cooked the ground meat with ground ginger, onion powder, and garlic powder before adding the daikon and the rest of the stuff. Also I didn’t time it, but I’m fairly certain it took over 20 minutes to cook. I basically just let it simmer until the daikon were soft.

I know it doesn’t make a whole lot of sense to serve with kimchi given that this recipe is Chinese and kimchi is Korean, but I didn’t really have anything else in the house and I thought it would add some color for the picture. I stand by it – it tasted good and without the kimchi the picture would be fairly dull color-wise.

Conclusion: my simplified version of the recipe turned out really well. But for those who aren’t comfortable with freehanding things, I am certain that if you follow the recipe to the t, it’ll turn out well too.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Yi @ YiReservation
    Nov 23, 2016 @ 10:16:01

    Hi there, thanks for referencing my braised beef recipe. I am also a big fan for daikon and use it in many of my soups and stews and pickles. I hope you get to try the beef recipe one day. If own a pressure cooker, you can cut the cooking time by roughly 2/3.
    Have a great Thanksgiving!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

