Slow Cooker Chicken Tikka Masala

DSC_7060 - Version 2

I guess it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything. I’ve been cooking, but I guess usually nothing new. My church still has the general routine of playing sports (indoors at the university gym right now because it’s winter) and then having dinner. I think these days the average number of people is around 20-25, but it’s slowly been growing.

Last week there was a new high of 36 people. I reused this recipe but in taco form. 10 lbs of chuck roast, 5 lbs of chicken (as a side note, this recipe totally works for chicken too), and then when we realized there were going to be over 30 people, we went out and bought 3 lbs of ground turkey for regular tacos (seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic power and chili powder). We also easily demolished 10 avocados worth of guacamole.

One thing we learned was that slowcooker recipes prepped the night before are really good for these dinners. Keep in mind the part about prepping the night before is key. But I’ll get back to that later.

This week I was traveling for work. I went to RPI and Williams for recruiting. I was really scared that I was going to get stuck in Albany because of the blizzard, but I was very fortunate to get out in time. I don’t think I’ve ever been that happy to be home and in my own bed before.

On Saturday my brother and sister-in-law came to visit. My bf and I had brunch with them and another friend at Bassett Street Brunch Club. I really like their food, but I’m starting to think it’s not worth the 1 hour+ wait. I really should remember to go at night sometime since brunch is served all day. We also went to Babcock Hall to get cheese and ice cream, and later that night we cooked a great steak dinner.

So basically my Saturday night was really busy. Which means I didn’t have time to prep a slowcooker meal. I decided to do one anyway and use the “high” setting for the first time (supposedly halves the cooking time). This was a mistake.

I tried out this recipe for chicken tikka masala. Except that I multiplied everything by approximately 3 1/3 to provide for the large crowds. This was the fatal flaw. I generally overfill the slowcookers, but when I prep the night before I cook on low overnight (12+ hours when the recipe usually calls for 8-10). We were really rushed on time tonight, so we started the slowcookers at 5pm. I checked on it at 8pm and had a mini heart attack when I realized the meat was still mostly raw. We quickly moved it to 3 pots on the stove and boiled/simmered for 15-20 more minutes which seemed to do the trick.

Overall the recipe was really good – it was a little hot (cayenne pepper), creamy (greek yogurt + heavy cream), and all the different spices (paprika, cumin, garam masala, cinnamon) worked really well together.

Some changes I made:
1) I used chicken thighs instead of breasts because thighs don’t get as dried out.
2) I used ground ginger instead of minced fresh ginger because I really hate biting into chunks of ginger.

Otherwise I tried to follow the recipe fairly closely, but it was hard because I had to multiple everything by approximately 3 1/3, and everything was split unevenly between two slowcookers (one is much bigger than the other).

I would definitely recommend this recipe and I would definitely make it again.

Leave a Reply

