“I Don’t Know” Pasta

IMG_0210IMG_0220

My friend and I semi-joke around about starting a restaurant sometimes. I cook but don’t bake. She bakes but doesn’t cook. So together we make a pretty good team. We sometimes talk about running away to culinary school… maybe one day we’ll actually do it.

I think it’d be funny to open a place called “Wherever”. The idea came because my friends and I are generally incredibly indecisive. So when the question comes up of where to go to eat, invariably the answer is usually a shrug paired with “wherever”. Since there currently isn’t a restaurant called “Wherever”, this answer isn’t very helpful for decision making. But if there was… voila! Decision made.

Going along with that idea, we would have dishes with names like “I don’t know”, “Whatever”, “Anything”, and “Surprise me”. When I was a kid, my mom would always get so annoyed at us when she would ask us what we wanted to eat and we would reply “I don’t know”. She’d always go, “There’s no such thing as ‘I don’t know’!” Well, now “I don’t know” would exist.

The first time I made this dish was when a couple of friends and I cleaned our other friend’s apartment while he wasn’t in town (his apartment was a DISASTER). After we finished cleaning we made dinner and watched 27 Dresses, Sweet Home Alabama, and Enchanted.

Last night my friend and I replicated the recipe, but a much lazier version. Instead of chopping broccoli we bought 2 bags of pre-cut florets and instead of making my own white sauce, we bought jarred sauce. We were both feeling pretty lazy and were in the middle of a Toy Story marathon. Normally I would always opt to make my own white sauce rather than buy the jarred stuff. If anyone would rather make their own white sauce too, my method is to simmer heavy cream with grated parmesan, salt, pepper, and garlic (or garlic powder). The ratios of these things will vary greatly on how cheesy/salty/peppery/garlicky you like your white sauce. If you’re lazy, pressed for time, or just awful in the kitchen, jarred sauce is good too.

Currently things are going well in Madison and I have no intention of leaving my job here, but if we ever decide to open “Wherever” I’ll be sure to let you all know! đŸ™‚

Ingredients
1 lb uncooked pasta (my preference is for farfalle, but any kind should do)
2 15 oz jars of white sauce (I use Classico roasted garlic alfredo or make my own)
2 16 oz packages of Polish Kielbasa
2 large heads of broccoli
oil
salt
pepper
garlic powder

Cook pasta to your preferred consistency.

Cut broccoli into bite-size pieces, and kielbasa into slices (~1/2 cm thick).

Heat olive oil in a frying pan. When hot, add broccoli. Add salt, pepper, and garlic powder to taste and stir well. Add a little water (just enough to cover the bottom of the pan). Cover and allow broccoli to cook until it’s a vibrant green (i.e., still has a crunch but is completely cooked). Remove the broccoli and set aside. Fry the kielbasa slices until cooked through and browned slightly on both sides. Remove and set aside.

Heat the sauce in a saucepan. Once hot, add the broccoli and kielbasa. Simmer for a few minutes to let the the broccoli and kielbasa soak in the flavor of the sauce. Serve over pasta.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: A Much-Needed Long Weekend | Snowy Day Chronicles
  2. nainai
    Dec 07, 2014 @ 23:31:10

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anything_and_Whatever

    We had these in Singapore around 07 , 08.
    They stopped selling them in 2010

    Reply

Leave a Reply

