Sweet and Spicy Chicken

IMG_6232

A guest post!

I haven’t really cooked anything new in a while. I’ve been cooking some, but have been sticking with old favorites like fried rice and broccoli. I guess I’ve been mildly busy since coming back to Madison… although I’m not sure exactly what I’ve been up to for the last two weeks.

Let’s see… I guess I’ve been very social lately. A while back bunch of us threw a birthday party for a friend. It was a small, chill gathering of people with pizza, wine and ice cream cake! And… last Friday I had some co-worker friends over for dinner. On Saturday some of us went skating, then got bubble tea/coffee (I’m really not a huge fan of bubble tea. Kind of an asian fail I suppose). Sunday went to watch the Pats-Texans game but most people just went to play games… I think I’m the only person who remotely cared about that game. Tuesday I had dinner with a couple of friends (bulgogi!), Wednesday my family group came over for games and stuff, and today a friend came and cooked this sweet and spicy chicken! I think I’m a little socially exhausted… and yet I have a lot of other social things coming up… hmm.

One thing I’ve really decided is that I don’t really do so well at being around large groups of people… In all the things that I did over the past couple of weeks, the ones I enjoyed the most involved fewer than 7 people and the activities were eating and talking (and maybe a little skating). Things I don’t really enjoy are large groups and games. I really don’t like games… which is kind of unfortunate because it seems like all my friends here love games. Hm. But yeah, my ideal night involves cooking/eating and then just chilling and talking with friends.

Well. Enough of my rambling about all the socializing I’ve been doing over the past couple of weeks. Tonight, the recipe I’m posting is from my guest, Angela!

IMG_6222

Her recipe for sweet and spicy chicken was extremely simple and surprisingly delicious! Not to say that I doubted her cooking skills, but rather I’m usually not a fan of the sweet/salty (or spicy) combo, so I was pretty skeptical of this recipe when she told me it involved salsa and peach/apricot preserves. But I was very pleasantly surprised! And as Angela says, it’s college-student friendly! Too bad I didn’t know about this when I was in college.

I’m pretty sleepy so I’m going to wrap up, but thanks to Angela for this awesome recipe!

Ingredients
1 lb boneless skinless chicken breast
3 Tbsp taco seasoning (see below for make-your-own taco seasoning)
1-2 Tbsp vegetable oil
1 jar (11 oz) salsa
1/2 cup peach preserves (or apricot jam)

Taco Seasoning Ingredients
2 2/3 tsp chili powder
1 1/3 tsp salt
1 1/3 tsp cumin
1/3 garlic powder
1 1/3 flour

Cut chicken into 1/2″ cubes. In a plastic bag, coat chicken with taco seasoning.
In a frying pan, brown chicken in oil.
Combine salsa & preserves and stir into skillet.
Bring to a boil then reduce heat, cover, and simmer 2-3 minutes.
Serve over rice.

Leave a Reply

