Apple Pie

Today I had my second Thanksgiving dinner in two days. I love Thanksgiving food. Although to be honest, I’m not the hugest fan of turkey. But I LOVE all the side dishes. Mashed potatoes, corn, stuffing, and macaroni and cheese. Those are my favorite.

Yesterday was the dinner for the Intervarsity group I volunteer with. It was a really good night, and I didn’t do any of the cooking (mostly because I had work all day). Tonight was my church’s Thanksgiving dinner. Each family group (weekly Bible study group) was in charge of a set of dishes. My group had a turkey, corn, macaroni and cheese, and pecan pies. I was in charge of macaroni and cheese. I spent basically the entire day cooking 120 servings of mac and cheese. That was 10 pounds of (uncooked) pasta with 45 cups of cheddar cheese.

There was a tray of apple slices leftover from the dinner and I was going to make apple crisp, but then there was an unfortunate accident that caused most of the apple slices to fall on the floor. Luckily not all of them fell out of the tray on to the ground, so I still had enough to make a pie.

Haven’t tasted it yet (bringing it to church tomorrow morning), but hopefully it’s delicious!

Recipe adapted from Allrecipes.com

Ingredients
2 9-inch pie crusts
1/2 cup unsalted butter
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
4 cups apple slices (not sure what kind I used)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a pot, melt butter. Add flour and whisk to make a paste. Add water, both sugars and cinnamon. Add apple slices and stir to coat.

Press bottom crust into a 9-inch pie crust. Pour in apple mixture. Cover with a lattice crust

Bake for 40-50 minutes until crust is golden brown.

Leave a Reply

