Slow Cooker Carnitas

I can’t believe it’s November. Time goes by so fast.

Things coming up:
Crosstraining! An AAIV retreat in Green Lake, WI. I’m leading a small group on Daniel 3 and Daniel 6. Praying that God will really work this weekend. And that I won’t totally suck at leading this small group.

Work trip next week. Leaving Madison on Wednesday, coming back Monday.

Thanksgiving is coming up! Sadly I am not going home… breaking a long tradition of having Thanksgiving dinner with some family friends and playing this ridiculous game called Masterpiece.

Thinking about going to Urbana ’12. Not sure yet though. I suppose I really need to make up my mind so I can buy plane tickets and stuff.

Anyway, last night we packed boxes for Operation Christmas Child. Shopping for toys is so fun. We also had a potluck and I tried out a couple new recipes. Here’s one.

This recipe for carnitas was soooo good. I made a few changes based on the comments, but all in all, so very delicious in tacos with some homemade guacamole, sour cream, salsa, lettuce, and cheese. I’ve said it many times, but I’ll say it again: I love my slow cooker.

Recipe adapted from Allrecipes.com

Ingredients
7 lbs bone-in pork shoulder
4 tsp salt
4 tsp garlic powder
4 tsp cumin
2 tsp oregano
2 tsp chili powder
2 tsp ground coriander
3 1/2 cups chicken broth

The night before, lay out the pork on a baking sheet. Rub half the spices on top. Turn over and run the other half on the other side. Cover with plastic wrap and store in the refrigerator overnight.

In the morning, place pork in the slow cooker. Add chicken broth, being careful not to wash off the spice rub. Cook on low for 10 hours.

Remove from slow cooker and shred with two forks.

Leave a Reply

