Mapo Tofu and Chinese Broccoli

There isn’t a whole lot going on in my life right now. Here are some random snippets:

I traveled Monday/Tuesday for work. Spent 8 hours onsite and around 18 hours traveling.

Cooking really is therapeutic.

My shoulder/back are really sore.

I’m going to Chicago this weekend to visit some friends. Going to a retreat the next weekend for the IV group I volunteer with. Then on another work trip the weekend after. Won’t be in Madison a lot in the near future I guess.

The tofu recipe came from a friend. Usually I would put some ground pork in there, but this was sort of a spur of the moment thing and I didn’t have any defrosted.

Anyway, I don’t really have anything else to say for now.

Ingredients
19 oz package tofu, diced (I used firm, but I’d use a softer one next time)
1/2 cup water
3 tbsp Lao Gan Ma
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 small onion, diced
salt
garlic powder
oil

Chinese broccoli
sesame oil
salt
Lee Kum Kee oyster sauce

In a large pan, heat oil. Add onions and garlic and saute until the onions are soft. Add water and chili sauce and simmer for 5-10 minutes.

Add tofu and simmer for another 15-20 minutes. Add salt and garlic powder to taste.

In a large pot, boil water, sesame oil and salt. Add broccoli and cook until tender, but not too soft. Remove from water and serve with oyster sauce.

Leave a Reply

