Kimchi Fried Rice and Bulgogi

Weekends always pass too quickly. It’s hard to believe that it’s already Sunday afternoon.

Not a lot has been going on here for me. Work has been pretty standard, the IV group I volunteer with just started up again for the school year, and my church is in fall outreach mode. So things have been busy, but nothing out of the ordinary to report on. I think the big news of the month is that I’m going back to my alma mater at the end of the month to attend the career fair. Yay! I’m excited to go back for a visit and see some old friends.

Anyway, this weekend marked my first attempt at making Korean food! Interestingly enough, the first time I had Korean food was my freshman year of COLLEGE when I was visiting my brother in NYC and he took me to a Korean restaurant. I didn’t even really like it that much back then. I’ve been noticing that my tastes have been changing a lot over the past years. On the list of things I never used to eat that I kind of like now: kimchi, eggs (sort of), mushrooms, zucchini, cabbage and asparagus. My mom would be so surprised if she knew I ate these things now cuz I never liked any of them when I was a kid.

So last night I tried my hand at kimchi fried rice and bulgogi (korean beef). Honestly I have never had kimchi fried rice before, so I’m not sure if it was “authentic” but I thought it tasted good. I got the approval of a friend who’s half-korean, so good enough for me. Haha. And I’m not sure about the bulgogi either because I’m not a huge fan of flank steak, so whenever I have bulgogi I always think it’s ok (I like the flavor but I find it too chewy), but not amazing. But I got the approval of a friend who doesn’t eat beef, so again, good enough for me!

On a side note, my friend helped me with the fried eggs because when it comes to cooking eggs, I’m kind of a newbie. I never used to eat eggs, so I never really learned how to cook them. Last weekend I was making hardboiled eggs and I actually had to look up “how to hardboil an egg” on the internet. After getting home last night I found this article about how to fry eggs. I’ll have to try it next time.

Ok, I’m done. Now on to the recipes.

Recipes adapted from Allrecipes.com and Serious Eats

Ingredients for bulgogi
2 lbs flank steak
soy sauce
sesame oil
6-7 cloves garlic, minced
5 tbsp white sugar
3 stalks green onions, chopped finely
ground black pepper

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl/container. I didn’t really measure the soy sauce, sesame oil, or pepper though. For the soy sauce I just poured until the beef stopped soaking it up, for the sesame oil I poured for maybe 2-3 seconds, and for the pepper, I added about 1-2 teaspoons.

Let the beef marinate for at least an hour, but it’s best if you let it marinate overnight.

Cook on high (marinade and all – I literally dumped all the contents of the pot I was marinating the beef in into the pan) in a frying pan until meat is cooked through. (Be careful not to overcook!)

Ingredients for kimchi fried rice
2 cups kimchi (plus juices)
1/2 onion, cut into pieces no bigger than 1/2″
1 tbsp butter
1 green onion stalk, chopped finely
1 tbsp sesame oil
1 tbsp gochujang
5 cups cooked rice
1 egg for each person, fried
oil (I used canola)

In a frying pan, heat canola oil. Add the kimchi and onion and cook until the onions have softened. Add butter, green onions, sesame oil, and gochujang and cook until the butter is melted and mixed in well.

Add rice and mix thoroughly. Let sit on medium heat to make the rice a little crispy. Serve with a fried egg on top.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Slow Cooker Shredded Korean Beef Burritos « Are Yu Hungry?
  2. Trackback: Emily’s Kimchi Fried Rice Can Feed A Village — Restaurant Baby

Leave a Reply

