Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Slow cookers are amazing. I love that I can dump a bunch of ingredients into it in the morning and when I get home from work, I have food waiting for me! The only thing that is I’m new at this, so I still worry that if I leave it on all day while I’m at work I’m going to burn the apartment down or something. Didn’t set anything on fire this time, whew! 😉

I don’t really have a whole lot else to say… after all I did just post a recipe two days ago. Not a whole lot has changed in the last two days. So I guess I’ll just comment on the recipe. I was skeptical at first because the recipe called for a packet of dry onion soup mix. Seemed like a weird thing to put in a pot roast. But 4.5 stars on allrecipes.com with over 1,000 reviews is pretty darn impressive, so I just had to give it a try. (Incidentally that reminded me of this xkcd comic. Haha, it’s definitely true!)

I made some modifications based off of a couple different reviews and it turned out really well! I unexpectedly had 6 people (including me) for dinner, so I wish I had gotten the 4 lb roast like the recipe called for… but I was really impressed by the tenderness of the meat. It literally just fell apart when I poked at it with a fork! I am happy to at least have enough leftovers for another day or two.

A couple other notes: next time I would put more carrots and use a bigger piece of beef. Also, it’s hard to make pot roast look pretty…

Anyway, it’s getting late and I’m getting old so I’m absurdly tired. Onward to the recipe then off to bed!

Recipe adapted from allrecipes.com

Ingredients
2.7 lb chuck roast
1 packet dry onion soup mix
3 large carrots, chopped into 1/2″ pieces
1 sweet onion, chopped into 8 evenly sized wedges
6 large white mushrooms, sliced
4 medium red potatoes, diced
6 cloves of garlic
salt
pepper
paprika
garlic powder
1 can beef broth
2 cups water
olive oil

Coarsely chop 2 cloves of garlic. Place in a bowl and cover with olive oil. Microwave in increments of 10-15 seconds until fragrant. Let cool. Rub the roast with the olive oil/garlic, salt, pepper, paprika and garlic powder. Let marinate for 15-30 minutes.

Brown on high heat, about 2-3 minutes on each side. Cut 4 slits (2 on the top, 2 on the bottom) of the roast and insert the remaining cloves of garlic.

Place the roast in the slow cooker. Sprinkle the onion soup mix on, add the vegetables, then pour in the broth and water. Cook on low for 8-10 hours. Serve over rice (or I hear mashed potatoes are good too).

Leave a Reply

