Knock You Nakeds

It’s weird to think that it’s September. I still feel like I’m “new” to this place (as in it still doesn’t quite feel like “home”) but I’ve been here for over a year now. Part of the whole not feeling like I’m from here is the occasional bouts of Williams nostalgia. It’s about that time of the year where students are heading back to school, and I start to miss the whole student ritual of starting a new semester. It’s even weirder to think that the kiddies who were wee l’il freshmen when I was a senior are now about to start their junior year. It’s crazy how time passes so quickly. I feel old.

Labor day weekend is drawing to a close, and as much as I wanted to get away for bit, I had a really good, relaxing weekend right here in Madison. Had drinks with a few friends, did a little shopping, played some cards (nerts!), tried some Ethiopian food, did some baking, and had some really good conversations. Sadly it is Monday night, which means the long weekend is over and it’s time to go back to work.

And now, on to the recipe. As I mentioned earlier, I sort of have these moments when I miss certain things about Williams. This time it was knock you nakeds. I remember the first time I had one was the first night of my WOOLF trip (Williams Outdoor Orientation for Living as First-years). I remember thinking they were the most delicious things ever. Gooey, chocolate-y and crunchy all rolled into one dessert. So. Good. My friend/roommate senior year worked in the bakeshop on campus for the four years we were in school together and she had this recipe. She sent it to me a while back, but I didn’t get around to trying it until now. I made it for a labor day barbecue at my pastor’s house and they were quite a hit. Note: the method I used to make caramel took 8 hours, but there are faster ways. Also, they turned out thicker than I expected. Next time I would think about using a large pan.

Warning: this recipe is not for the faint of heart or for anyone who claims to be on a diet or watching their weight. Eating more than a cubic inch at a time may cause sugar highs, artery clogs, and in some serious cases, death. (Probably not, but you should be careful.) Continue, if you dare to the recipe below!

Ingredients
2 lbs 7 oz devil’s food cake mix (~2.5 boxes)
13 oz melted butter
2.5 cans (14 oz) sweetened condensed milk
2 cups chocolate chips

Make caramel from 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk (it’s actually more like dulce de leche, but in essence they’re the same) using some method from this wikihow. I used the slow cooker method which worked really well. If using the slow cooker method, make sure to peel off the can labels. I also opened the cans and covered them with aluminum foil. After 8 hours or so, remove the cans (I used tongs) and spoon the dulce de leche into a bowl and whisk to get a smooth consistency.

Mix the devil’s food cake mix, the butter, and 1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons of sweetened condensed milk. Press half the mixture into a 9×13 pan and bake at 350 for 8 minutes.

Let cool and spread the dulce de leche over and sprinkle the chocolate chips.

Crumble the rest of the cake mixture on top. (My friend suggested pressing it through a metal cooling rack to make a fine crumble, but I don’t own one, so I just did it by hand, which worked ok.) Bake at 350 for 18 minutes.

Enjoy! (And try not to think about how many calories you’re probably ingesting!)

Leave a Reply

