Birthday Bibimbap

Bibimbap! Delicious!

Add a fried egg on top!

I didn’t cook this. This was part of one of four celebrations for my birthday. I have to say, after this week I’m all celebrated out. I’m so blessed to have such great friends here who would spend all this time and energy to ensure that I felt loved before, on and after my birthday!

Saturday, June 30 [birthday – 2, Incidentally my dad’s actual birthday]. Spent the day in Chicago with friends. I mentioned to a friend that I love this sponge cake from Boston’s chinatown that I used to get for my birthday every year and a couple of them got one from Chicago’s chinatown and surprised me at dinner! I also got to see my brother and his wife for dinner which was awesome. [They’re visiting Madison this weekend- exciting!!]

So prettyyyyyyy

Sunday, July 1 [birthday – 1]. Played badminton and basketball with friends after church in a gym without air conditioning. Probably sweat off 10 pounds. After a bit of convincing, headed home to “drop off my car” and get some ice for a friend who hurt his hand. Found a group of people hiding in my million-degree house with no air conditioning. Went to a nice Chinese restaurant near my house for dinner.

Me and the lovely organizer

Group shot with the girls

Group shot with the guys

Monday, July 2 [birthday]. Went to The Nitty Gritty for dinner/drinks. Sadly, no pictures from that.

Wednesday, July 4 [birthday+2]. This was really the only thing I actually knew for sure was planned. A nice, small dinner with homemade Korean food [bibimbap and bulgogi]. Delicious! Here are some other gems from the night:

Helping me open my present

What a cutie… and Nicole

Yay for ice cream and Justine!

I’m not going to really post a real recipe because I didn’t actually cook this, but I can give it a guess and the master cook can correct me if it’s wrong 🙂

Ingredients
5 cups (uncooked) short-grain rice
2 zucchinis, sliced into thin semi-circles
2 carrots, cut into matchsticks
spinach [not sure how much]
shiitake mushrooms [also not sure]
eggs [one per person]
gochujang
minced garlic
soy sauce
sesame oil
sesame seeds[?]
salt
pepper

Cook the rice in a rice cooker [duh].

Blanch the spinach. Mix with salt, pepper and sesame seeds and set aside.

Saute the zucchinis with soy sauce and salt. Sprinkle with sesame seeds and set aside.

Saute the carrots and mushrooms [separately] with soy sauce and salt. Set aside.

Mix gochujang, sesame oil and minced garlic.

Fry eggs [sunny side up?].

To assemble:
Scoop rice into a bowl. Top with spinach, mushrooms, carrots and zucchini. Add a spoonful [or two] of the gochujang mix. Finish with a fried egg. Mix it all together and enjoy!

Bibimbap usually has beef or something in it too, but because my friend made bulgogi too, we didn’t really need more meat in the bibimbap.

In other news it’s been 90-110 degrees here for the past like two full weeks and my apartment doesn’t have air conditioning. 😦 It’s been rough… I can barely sleep. I’m hoping it’ll cool down this weekend [forecast says it will be in the 80’s].

Anyway, thank you to all my friends for making this past week super special! I love you all!

Leave a Reply

