Beer Batter Chocolate Cupcakes with Maple Bacon Frosting

My friend had his 26th birthday party today and for his birthday celebration we had a cooking competition/potluck where the “secret ingredients” were bacon and chocolate. The prize was the winner and up to two friends got dinner either cooked by the birthday boy man(?) or at a restaurant of his/her choosing. Seems counterintuitive that someone would give out prized to others on his birthday, but I do love a cooking challenge.

So I decided to make an appetizer (next post) and these cupcakes. I’ve always been a little bit of a skeptic when it comes to putting bacon (or other salty things) in my desserts, but a) I have two friends from college who would always get bacon with a little cup of maple syrup for dipping at Sunday brunch, and b) I kept seeing maple bacon dessert recipes popping up all over Tastespotting and Foodgawker, so I decided to give it a try.

I pretty much stuck to the recipe I found, with a few very minor exceptions listed below. It was definitely a success- I got a lot of compliments throughout the night, and I did end up winning the competition (caveat – there were only two other competitors, so don’t be too impressed).

– I didn’t have Guinness and last night when I was getting the ingredients I got to the supermarket after 9pm. Little did I know that there’s some state or city law that prohibits stores from selling alcohol after 9pm. I didn’t really feel like going out again today to the supermarket, so I just used a cup of Leinenkugel’s Creamy Dark. I guess it gives the recipe a bit of Wisconsin flavor 🙂

– I used four strips of bacon instead of three.

– I guess I measured poorly because I only made 21 cupcakes instead of 24.

– I don’t own a piping bag, a gallon-sized ziplock bag sufficed.

– When I baked the bacon I just put it in a 9×13 pan lined with aluminum foil and drained the grease every 5 minutes when I took the pan out to re-baste.

I’m too lazy to copy over the ingredients and instructions, so I’m just going to link to the original recipe.

Leave a Reply

