Bacon Rangoon (aka Bagoons?)

So I have this theory. I don’t know if I’ve written about it before, but here it is: I believe that anything that tastes good with some form of carb (bread, noodles, rice, etc) would taste good wrapped in a wonton skin and deep fried. So far I’ve tested this theory with nutella, nutella and bananas, samosa filling, and peanut butter and chocolate.

I have plans on eventually trying:
– Tex-mex: ground beef with taco seasoning and cheese inside, served with salsa, sour cream and guacamole.
– Italian: meat sauce, cheese (some combination of mozzarella, parmesan and/or ricotta). Kind of like a deep-fried ravioli I suppose.
– S’more: chocolate and marshmallow inside, dusted with graham cracker crumbs

Anyway, this time I decided to try something like crab rangoons, but instead of imitation crab meat, put bacon. All in all it turned out really well, although in the future I’m not sure I would use this folding style for wontons. When I was deep frying them, any air caught on the inside would cause them to balloon up and look mildly ridiculous. Folding them in half into triangles is much much much easier.

With them, I also made a dipping sauce. I really wanted to fit both secret ingredients in (see previous post for explanation), so I was trying to think of how to incorporate chocolate. I randomly thought of mixing ranch, chili powder and cocoa powder together. I ran this past a friend, and he thought it needed more of a kick, so I subbed in sriracha sauce for chili powder. When I tried it, I had absolutely no concept of what it would taste like, but it turned out to be pretty good. The ranch and cocoa powder offset the spiciness of the sriracha well, and none of the flavors was too overwhelming (although some people thought it was too spicy…). Sadly, I didn’t measure anything when I made it… but the proportions are mostly based on personal preference anyway.

Recipe adapted from Allrecipes.com

Ingredients
9 strips of bacon
2 (8 ounce) packages of cream cheese, softened
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp paprika
~38 wonton wrappers
oil for frying (a lot)
ranch dressing
sriracha sauce
unsweetened cocoa powder

In a large mixing bowl, combine cream cheese, garlic powder and paprika. Chop the bacon into small pieces (I used kitchen scissors and cut them into ~1 cm squares) and add them to the bowl. Mix until spices and bacon are evenly spread through the cream cheese.

Place ~1.5 teaspoons of mix in the center of the wonton wrapper. Use water to wet the edges and fold in the style of your preference.

In a pot or a deep fryer, heat oil. Deep fry the wontons in small batches. Remove from oil with a slotted spoon and place in a dish lined with paper towels to drain some of the extra oil.

To make the sauce, combine the ranch, sriracha and cocoa powder and stir with a whisk until well combined. I think I used about 1/4-1/3 cup of ranch, 1-2 tbsp of sriracha, and 1-2 tsp of cocoa powder. But I really don’t know because I didn’t measure at all.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Wonton Theory, part 1 | Are Yu Hungry?

Leave a Reply

