Caprese Salad Bites

This past week has been really great but also just really exhausting. I flew out of Madison early last Saturday and went home for the weekend. Spent a couple days at home with the family, then headed into Cambridge to do three days of go live support.

One might ask, what is go live support? Basically, when a hospital installs the software, a bunch of us will go out to make sure things go smoothly. We take 12 hour shifts (6am-6pm or 6pm-6am) and roam the hospital helping doctors and nurses use the software, reporting any issues we find. It’s pretty tiring, but at the same time it’s really rewarding to see the software in use and to help end users directly.

Anyway, the go live went really well, but either way spending 12 hours on your feet is pretty tiring (especially for three days straight). Usually when I go on go lives, after my shift is over I eat dinner, do a little work/answer emails and stuff, then go to bed at like 9 or 10pm. But this time I was in Cambridge and I actually know people in the area. So each night (Tuesday-Thursday) I met up with different people.

Tuesday I went to my friend’s apartment in Kendall Square. We hung out, watched a movie, and made these Caprese salad bites as well as the white wine sangria (next post). Wednesday I met up with friends from my old church youth group and had dinner in Burlington. Thursday I met up with friends from college and went to a brew pub in Cambridge. Each day I didn’t even get back to the hotel until almost 11pm, which means I didn’t get to sleep until close to midnight. That combined with getting up at 5am everyday for work meant this trip was even more exhausting than normal go lives.

And then of course there was this weekend. But I’ll get into that in the next post.

These Caprese salad bites were quite delicious and simple to make. And healthy, too.

Recipe adapted from Dainty Chef

Ingredients
Grape tomatoes
Basil leaves
Fresh mozzarella cheese
Toothpicks
Balsamic vinegar
Salt
Pepper

Cut the grape tomatoes in half, and the mozzarella cheese into bite-size pieces.

Assemble by spearing a piece of cheese, then a basil leaf folded in half, then a grape tomato half (flat side down) on a toothpick.

When you’re done assembling them all, drizzle with balsamic vinegar and sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste.

Leave a Reply

