Homemade Kahlua/White Russians

In addition to the bruschetta that I made last night, some friends and I made our own homemade kahlua, which we used to make white russians. I love liqueurs, but they’re usually absurdly expensive, so I decided to see if it’d be cheaper to make them instead of buying them. When I was in school, my friends and I made homemade Baileys. I’m not sure if in total that one is actually less expensive- stuff like good irish whisky and sweetened condensed milk isn’t cheap. But it does make a LOT of it, and in my opinion it tastes better than the real stuff. So all in all a thumbs up for that recipe.

For this recipe, I don’t actually know what kahlua tastes by itself, but what we made tastes good and that’s what counts, right? Like the Baileys, I also don’t know if this is actually less expensive (in total), but it definitely makes more than a regular bottle.

After dinner we made white russians, which were delicious!

I think everything important I had to say I wrote in my last post, so that’s all I’m going to write for now.

Ingredients
10 cups coffee
1.5 lb light brown sugar
3 tsp vanilla extract
.5-.6 liters everclear (151 proof)
1-2 tsp almond extract
1/2 cup instant coffee

For white russians
half and half (or milk or cream)
ice cubes
vodka (optional- in the original recipe, but I didn’t have any)

Brew 10 cups of strong coffee. Pour into a large pot. Heat on medium heat and pour in sugar and instant coffee. Stir until the sugar is all dissolved.

Take off heat and add vanilla and almond extract, and everclear. Pour into bottles and cool.

To make white russians:
In an 8-10 oz old fashioned glass, place 3-4 ice cubes. Fill about halfway with kahlua. If using vodka, add about 1-2 oz. Pour half and half over the back of a spoon and fill the rest of the glass.

Leave a Reply

