Bruschetta

Today was a good day. I managed to catch up with a bunch of different friends, both with friends here in Madison and with friends from school. It was a huge blessing because lately I’d been feeling isolated even though I’d been spending a lot of time surrounded by people. To state the obvious, having quality conversations with people > spending a lot of time with people.

Something that came out of having these conversations was the somewhat painful realization of how much self image is still a struggle in my life. Whether it’s related to body image or personal self worth, it’s become pretty clear that I still have a long way to go.

Time and time again the Bible tells us who were are. We are created in His image (Genesis 1). We are fearfully and wonderfully made (Psalm 139). We are children of God (1 John 4). We are friends of God (John 15). We are a new creation (2 Corinthians 5). We are sinful people, justified by grace (Romans 3). We have been set free from sin (Romans 6).

It’s also pretty evident that as Christians we are not supposed to live by the standards of this world. That we’re free from the rules of this world (Colossians 2). That our minds should not be set on earthly things, because we are not citizens of this world (Philippians 3). That we’re to seek the approval of God and not man (Galatians 1).

And yet, why is it so hard to put that into practice? Why do scales still make me uneasy? Why do the words and actions of people around me still have the ability to make me feel utterly worthless? Why do I work so hard to gain the respect and approval of my coworkers?

While I’ve definitely made progress in overcoming these issues over the past 4-5 years, I know that I am far from being “fixed”. There is still a lot of growth ahead. I am a work in progress.

Anyway, that’s been on my mind lately, today in particular. The only way that any of that is remotely related to bruschetta is that I happened to make bruschetta today. I don’t have a whole lot to say about the recipe. It was pretty good. The only complaint from a certain food critic friend is that it “tasted too healthy”. So here it is!

Ingredients
8 roma tomatoes, diced
3 tbsp minced garlic
6-8 basil leaves, chopped
3 tbsp balsamic vinegar
olive oil
salt
pepper
1-2 french baguettes (I used one, but ran out, so two would probably work better)
parmesan cheese, shredded

In a large bowl, mix the tomatoes, garlic, basil, 1 tbsp olive oil, and vinegar. Add salt and pepper to taste. Set aside for 30 min – 1 hour to let the flavors soak in.

Slice the baguettes into slices ~1 cm thick. Brush lightly with olive oil and bake at 400 degrees for 5-10 minutes, or until crispy.

Top each slice with a generous spoonful of the tomato mix. Be sure to drain as much of the liquid from the spoon before placing on the bread so that the bread doesn’t get too soggy.

Sprinkle with parmesan cheese.

Leave a Reply

