Spicy Pan-Fried Tofu

If someone had told me a year ago that I’d be posting a recipe for tofu, I’d have laughed in your face. Up until really recently I wasn’t really a fan of tofu. But lately I guess it’s been growing on me and I strangely had a craving for it.

I also just recently acquired sriracha sauce and I was excited to use it, so I decided to experiment. I kind of just threw together some things to see how it’d turn out. I was going to put green peppers in it too, but for the life of me I couldn’t find it. Mysterious, huh? I looked everywhere in the kitchen, but couldn’t find it. Guess where I found it? In my car! It must have rolled out of the bag when I was driving home from the supermarket. Anyway, case of the missing pepper solved.

Sadly when you cover food in a dark sauce, it’s hard to make it look attractive. The picture’s not great, but it tasted pretty good. And it was nice and spicy. Spicy enough for my Hmong friend. Her only complaint was that she wished there was meat in it. Meat probably would have been good [ground pork I’m guessing], but I’m just so non-functional in the morning when I wake up that I can never remember to take meat out of the freezer. Then when I get home, I’m too hungry to want to wait for meat to defrost. So sadly, no meat in this one.

Ingredients
14 oz extra firm tofu
1 large carrot
3 large shiitake mushrooms

3 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons sriracha sauce
1 teaspoon cornstarch
sugar
salt
garlic powder
oil

Cut the tofu into small cubes. Sprinkle with salt on both sides. Set aside for 10-15 minutes. Meanwhile, chop carrots and mushrooms into thin slices.

In a frying pan, heat 1-2 tablespoons of oil. Use a paper towel to blot dry the tofu. Add to the frying pan in single layer and let brown (2-3 minutes). Flip and brown the other sides. Remove from the pan and set aside.

Add another tablespoon of oil to the pan and add the carrots. Sprinkle with a pinch of salt and garlic powder. Add a few tablespoons of water and the mushrooms, and cook until the carrots are soft.

In a bowl, mix the soy sauce, ~3 tablespoons of water, the sriracha sauce, the cornstarch and a pinch of sugar together. Add to the frying pan with the carrots and mushrooms and heat until the sauce thickens. Add the tofu and mix until the tofu is coated with the sauce.

Leave a Reply

