Microwave Mochi

It was my family group’s turn to provide snacks today, so two friends and I made roasted pork for fajitas and these mochi snacks for dessert. Incidentally one of these friends isn’t even in my family group, but she’s really good at cooking/baking, so we drafted her to help. Thanks friend!

I’m not posting the recipe for the roasted pork because I wasn’t involved in making it, so I don’t even have any idea what was in it.

As for the mochi things, I’ve had this mochi recipe in my bookmarks for a while now, and finally got around to trying it. I was deciding what to make and went with this one because it was April Fools Day today and the idea of making another form of fake sushi on April Fools Day amused me. I decided also to make the red bean paste ones because I figured people would like them. I don’t actually like red bean paste, so I have no idea what those ones tasted like. Come to think of it, I didn’t get one of the fruit/mochi sushi pieces either (they disappeared too fast), so I can’t really make any commentary on how these turned out.

People did tell me that they were good though, so I’m going to call this one a success. On several occasions people voiced their surprise that these were homemade because they tasted like they were from a store. That’s not necessarily a compliment (usually I would hope that homemade would taste better than store bought), but I think they were meant to be compliments.

Anyhow, I am really tired and want to go to bed soon, so I’m going to stop rambling and get on to the recipe. Enjoy!

Recipe from Tiny Urban Kitchen

Ingredients*
3/4 cup Mochiko Sweet Rice Flour
3/4 cup water
3 tbsp sugar
cornstarch

1 can red bean paste
Assorted fruit (I used blackberries, mangoes, and strawberries)

In a pyrex bowl, mix the flour, water and sugar together. Cover tightly with plastic wrap and microwave on high for 2-3 minutes. Carefully remove from microwave (it’s REALLY HOT).

Line a plate with cornstarch. Scoop out spoonfuls of the dough on to the cornstarch. You’ll probably want to wait for it to cool a little bit, and you’ll want to cover your hands with cornstarch too, otherwise the dough will stick to your fingers. To make the nigiri, simply form logs (~2″ x .5″ x .5″), roll in cornstarch, and set aside to cool. To make the red bean paste ones, form a flat circle (~3″ in diameter, ~.25″ thick) with a little well in the middle. Put ~1 tsp (didn’t actually measure) of red bean paste in the well and fold in the sides. Roll around to make a flat disc shape and set aside to cool.

Once they’re cooled, the red bean paste ones are done. Shake off excess cornstarch and enjoy! For the nigiri, shake off the excess cornstarch, top with fruit of your choice and enjoy!

*I’m not sure how many of each these measurements make. In total I think we made 7-9 batches and made about 40 red bean paste ones and 25 nigiri. That used up almost 2 boxes of the rice flour, and probably less than 1/2 of the can of red bean paste.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. stephanie
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 00:09:39

    i didn’t know you could make mochi at home!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

