Candy Sushi

I found this recipe a while back and while I was intrigued, I was skeptical of the flavor palate. It seemed like too many sweet things together… plus I couldn’t really imagine marshmallow and gummy worms tasting good together. I also never had an occasion to make it, so it just sat in my bookmarks for a long time.

I came across it again a few weeks ago when searching through my bookmarks for something to make for church. Ultimately I chose the cookie dough dip (see last post), but I found this one again and decided that I might want to try it. I ran the idea past a bunch of people and got mixed opinions. Some were also unsure of whether the flavors would work together, but some were so excited by the idea that I decided it was worth a try.

And what better time is there to try this than a get-together with the Tuesday night undergrad small group? It was the perfect opportunity: a) undergrads never turn down free food and b) children can handle the massive amounts of sugar (haha who am I kidding? Most of them are only 1-2 years younger than me). At any rate, it turned out to be pretty popular. Wasn’t my favorite in terms of flavor, but it wasn’t bad and others seemed to enjoy it- the entire plate was gone by the end of the night.

Side note: I’ve never rolled sushi before- so this was actually a learning experience for me. If you’ve rolled sushi before, yours will probably turn out a lot prettier than mine did.

Recipe from The family kitchen

Ingredients
1 box Fruit Roll Ups (I think there were 10 in the box and I used 8)
8 individual Rice Crispy Treats
24 assorted gummy worms

Unroll a fruit roll up on a cutting board (leave the plastic on). Put one rice crispy treat in a microwave-safe bowl and microwave for 20-30 seconds.

Spread the softened rice crispy treat over the fruit roll up, leaving a little room on one edge, but generally trying to spread it as close as you can to the other three edges.

Place three gummy worms across the middle of the rice crispy treat spread (parallel to the edge of the fruit roll up that you left uncovered).

Roll up the fruit roll up so that the rice crispy treat spread surrounds the gummy worms (peel off the plastic as you roll). Connect the uncovered edge of the fruit roll up to the opposite edge and roll to get the edges to stick together. Continue to roll on the cutting board to compact the rice crispy treat spread so that it won’t fall apart when you cut it.

Start by cutting it in the middle and working your way out. Between slices, roll one quarter of a rotation to keep one side from getting too flat.

Serve immediately or refrigerate until serving to keep them from getting too stuck to each other or to the plate.

Leave a Reply

