Samosa Wontons

So I have this theory that anything that tastes good with some form of carbohydrate (pasta, bread, rice, etc) would taste good deep-fried in a wonton skin. So far I’ve tested this theory with pork and chives (classic dumpling filling) and nutella/nutella+banana.

Today I tried a new filling to further test the theory. I made samosa wontons* by filling wonton skins with the filling found in samosas (an Indian appetizer).

Ok I am so tired I can barely keep my eyes open. Gnight everyone!

Edits: It’s now Sunday and I got a little more sleep and I remembered some notes I wanted to add about this recipe. First, instead of using canola oil, I used peanut oil. It’s a bit more expensive, but it has a higher smoke point, so it’s better for deep frying. Second, I used a deep fryer instead of a pot this time. The difference is there’s a temperature setting and it’s a little deeper than most frying pans. It took a weirdly long time for the samosas to turn golden brown though. I think next time I will try peanut oil in a pot/pan.

*These were for the same potluck in the last post. I thought it was pretty hilarious that I ended up making samoas and samosas. Very different but so similar in name.

Recipe adapted from Roti n Rice

Ingredients
6 medium potatoes (~1.5 inch diameter from the thickest cross section, ~3 inches in length)
1 cup frozen peas
2 sweet onions, diced
4 tsp ground cumin
4 tsp ground mustard
4 tsp garam masala
4 tsp coriander powder
1-2 tsp chili powder (depends on how spicy you want it)
Peanut oil
Salt
1 package frozen or refrigerated square wonton skins

Peel and chop potatoes in half. Cover with salted water and boil for approximately 30 minutes, or until tender. Drain and rinse with cold water. When cooled, chop into small pieces (~1/2 cm cubes).

In a frying pan heat some oil. Add onions and fry until soft and translucent. Add cumin, mustard, garam masala, coriander powder and chili powder and mix well.

Add peas and potatoes and stir until the spices are evenly spread out. Season to taste with salt.

Assemble wontons by putting a spoonful of potato/peas/onion mixture in the middle of the wonton skin and fold the skin diagonally. Wet the inner edges of the skins and press together.

In a pot or deep fryer, pour 1-2 inches of oil. Fry the wontons until golden brown.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Wonton Theory, part 1 | Are Yu Hungry?

Leave a Reply

