Singapore Rice Noodles (星洲炒米)

Happy Thanksgiving! I’m currently lying in bed at home in MA. I’m happy to be home after a long day of traveling. I got to Madison airport at around 3:30 for a 4:30 flight. Madison airport’s the best. Busiest travel day and it takes me around 5 minutes to get through security. Landed in Detroit around 7 and literally sit there for another hour or so before we get a gate. Good thing I didn’t have a tight connection… a lot of people on my flight missed theirs. Took off from Detroit over an hour late and landed in Boston at 12:30. Moral of the story: Detroit airport sucks.

Anyway. This recipe is not a Thanksgiving one. I made this on Tuesday for my family group’s potluck. My mom used to make this a lot when I was younger so I had a craving for it. I never order it from restaurants though because usually 星洲炒米 has shrimp in it… and I don’t like shrimp.

A couple of the ingredients are only found at Asian grocery stores. Haha actually the two most important ingredients are only found at Asian grocery stores: the rice noodles and the curry sauce. I used rice noodles like these (I can’t remember the actual brand…) and Lee Kum Kee curry sauce. I actually called home to make sure I had the right brand.

The last note I would make is that in the recipe I wrote french cut green beans but in reality I used whole green beans cut into small pieces because my friend who was in charge of getting the beans didn’t know what french cut green beans were (even though I included the link above in my email about ingredients. He didn’t click on it. Potatoes*!)

There ended up being way more than enough food at the potluck, so I ended up having a substantial amount of leftovers which I donated to an undergrad friend of mine. And I’m sure she would wholeheartedly recommend this recipe. Right? 🙂

*Explanation of potatoes: this same undergrad friend mentioned above used to say “Geez!” all the time. Seriously. All. The. Time. Another friend of hers doesn’t like that word, so she replaced it with “potatoes” or “celery sticks”.

Ingredients
14 oz dried rice stick
12 oz french cut green beans
2 large chicken breasts, diced
Lee Kum Kee curry sauce
5-10 large shiitake mushrooms, sliced (number depends on how much you like mushrooms)
soy sauce
oil
garlic powder
salt
cornstarch

Preparation
Marinate the chicken with soy sauce, oil, garlic powder, salt and cornstarch. Set aside.

Boil a large pot of water and cook rice stick for 1-2 minutes. Remove, drain and cut with kitchen scissors. (This is a necessary step… they’re impossible to stir if you don’t cut them)

In a nonstick frying pan, heat oil. When oil is hot, add mushrooms and green beans. Stir fry for a few minutes, adding a dash of salt to taste. Remove from heat and set aside.

Heat more oil and add the noodles (I had to do this in 2 batches). Add 2 large tablespoons (or 4 if you can fit all the noodles) of curry sauce and stir until the noodles are evenly coated. Add in half (or all) of the mushrooms/beans and mix well. Remove from heat and set aside. If you only did half the noodles, repeat with the other half.

Brown the chicken in a frying pan then add a spoonful of curry sauce and stir until the chicken is evenly coated. In your serving dish, mix chicken into the noodle/mushroom/bean mix.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Calvin Chen
    Nov 25, 2011 @ 05:29:26

    hm in taiwanese rice noodles i like to soak dried shrimp and/or mushrooms in warm water and then use the leftover soaking water as broth in the noodles. i dunno if that’s necessary or works for singapore noodles but i love the flavor that you get from the soak

    Reply

Leave a Reply

