Garlic Chicken Katsu – an adventure in deep frying

These days the only time I cook anything new is for church things. My last post was when it was my turn to make snacks for my family group (church small group). Yesterday I made dinner for my family group and tried out a recipe for garlic chicken katsu, and I suspect my next post will come sometime this weekend after my church’s young adult potluck.

It’s dinnertime right now and guess what I’m having? Canned tomato basil bisque from Costco and white cheddar Cheez-its. It’s not that I don’t want to try new things… it’s just that I’m usually too tired/hungry to try anything time consuming and most of these recipes can’t be scaled down for one person.

So last night was the first time I’ve deep-fried anything… it was an experience. I started with a pan of oil, but wasn’t sure how to tell if the oil was hot enough. I don’t know what I was thinking because I know that hot oil and water are a horrible combination, but I sprinkled a drop of water in the pan. BIG MISTAKE. Hot oil flying. Everywhere. Apologies to the hostess of our family group for getting oil all over the floor. Lesson learned… again.

So we moved the oil from the pan to a deeper pot and this time I dropped a panko crumb in to test the oil. Much better idea. So I fried the chicken until “golden brown and crispy” like the recipe said to, but I guess the chicken thighs were too thick so they weren’t cooked all the way through. But we stuck ’em in the oven for a bit and it all turned out ok in the end! 🙂

The mashed potatoes were loosely based off this recipe, but I pretty much free-handed it… and added a ton of garlic powder. Fun fact: I used a potato masher for the first time! It made the mashing part go soooo much faster (I usually do it with a fork)!!

Well the moment you’ve all been waiting for: the actual recipe! (As opposed to reading my endless rambling)…

Recipe adapted from Chef Jenn

Ingredients
8 skinless, boneless chicken thighs, cut in half
3-4 eggs, beaten
1 8oz package of Panko
salt
black pepper
flour
garlic powder
canola oil for frying

Preparation
Prepare three large bowls/plates: one with the beaten eggs, one with flour, and one with the panko. Season the panko liberally with salt and pepper.

Coat each half chicken thigh first with flour, then egg, then panko.

Fill a pan/pot with about 1″ of oil. Add a panko crumb to test the oil. When it starts sizzling, add as many chicken thighs that will fit. Fry until golden brown and crispy, then turn and fry the other side.

Remove from oil with metal tongs and place on a plate lined with paper towels. Cut a piece open to see if the meat is cooked through. If it is, you’re done! If not, transfer to a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil and bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

