Cinna-bites

So it’s been a while since my last post. Things have been busy so I haven’t had the energy/motivation to try new things… I’ve been sticking mostly with broccoli and rice. I also bought bread and cheese from Costco, so I spent the last 2 weeks or so working on that (roasted garlic bread + cheddar = pretty darn delicious).

I also spent a weekend in Chicago. Tried legit deep dish pizza for the first time (personally I didn’t think it was mind blowing, but it was good), and learned how to make homemade dumplings from some international Chinese students there… maybe I’ll try to recreate those sometime for this blog.

Anyhow, this week it was my turn to provide snacks for my church family group so I decided it was a good opportunity to try something new. I also happened to have a package of crescent rolls in the fridge so I decided to try these mini/simplified cinnamon rolls.

The recipe is pretty simple and they turned out to be quite delicious… although mine were not very pretty– haha, I purposefully picked out the three prettiest for the picture.

Hopefully I’ll get back to trying more new recipes soon…

Recipe from You Made That?

Ingredients
2 packages of Pillsbury crescent rolls
2 Tbsp butter, softened
2 tsp cinnamon
8 Tbsp brown sugar
2 Tbsp flour
1/2 cup powdered sugar

Preparation
Roll out half a package of crescent roll dough into a rectangle and press the seams together. Place the rest of the dough in the fridge to keep it cool.

Spread around 1/4 of the cinnamon/sugar/butter/flour mixture across the dough and roll up along the short side to form a log.

Using a sharp knife (the original recipe said to use dental floss but that didn’t work out so well for me), cut into 1-1.5″ slices.

Repeat for the rest of the dough.

Place slices on a baking sheet (I used 2) and bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes.

Mix 1/2 cup powdered sugar with ~3 tablespoons of water to make frosting. Drizzle over cinna-bites and serve warm.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Calvin Chen
    Oct 12, 2011 @ 05:51:49

    BLASPEHMY (re: deep dish)

    Reply

  2. Suzanne
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 12:52:50

    Hey thanks for the link back to my recipe and glad they turned out good for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

