Beef with Broccoli

I can’t believe it’s mid-September already. I sure doesn’t seem like I’ve been at work/in Madison for 8 weeks already. But it’s definitely beginning to feel like fall. It’s currently 40 degrees out and there’s a chance of frost. Yikes.

At any rate, work has been keeping me busy, despite the fact that I am still in training and therefore not doing any real work. I’m still taking classes and I have 2 more projects and 3 more tests before I’m certified on my application (although that doesn’t mean I’ll be done with tests for good… I still have many more to come). The point is, most days I’m too tired/lazy to try something new, so I’ve been cooking mostly uninteresting dishes… and pretty much eating broccoli every day.

I decided to post this even though it’s not really unique or particularly Asian, but it’s on pretty much every “Chinese” restaurant’s menu. And in my opinion, this version taste better. 😛

I was hungry, so I finished this all tonight, but that probably means it’s enough for one normal person.

Ingredients
1 crown of broccoli, cut into florets
1/2 lb flank steak, sliced thinly against the grain
garlic powder
vegetable oil
soy sauce
salt
cornstarch
Lee Kum Kee Black Bean and Garlic Sauce

Preparation
Marinate beef with garlic powder, soy sauce, oil, salt and cornstarch.

Heat oil in a frying pan. Add broccoli and stir, sprinkling in a dash of salt. Pour in (approx) 1/4 cup of water and cook, stirring occasionally until tender. Add a spoonful of black bean and garlic sauce (size of spoonful dependent on how salty you like your food) and stir until the sauce is evenly distributed over the broccoli. Remove from heat and set aside.

Heat more oil, and add beef in a single layer. Cook until the side facing up starts to turn brown, then flip and cook until browned. Add broccoli back in and mix well.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Calvin Chen (@calvindeecee)
    Sep 15, 2011 @ 03:56:50

    ooooh.. supper club

    Reply

Leave a Reply

