Chinese “Broccoli” (Gai lan/jie lan/芥兰)

I’ve been here (in my apartment) for about a week and a half, and here (at my job) for almost a month now. I haven’t gotten the hang of buying the right amount of food yet. I’ve been eating the same few things for a week and a half: garlic broccoli with rice (maybe some chicken too), frozen dumplings, and this. Paired with my next post, it made a really good meal.

I’ve also been trying to figure out how to make individual servings of things. I’m starting to get the hang of it.

Ingredients
3 stalks? (I don’t know the measure word) chinese broccoli, cut into 2″ pieces
Lee Kum Kee Oyster Sauce (if you don’t know what that is, refer here)

Preparation
Bring a small pot of water to a boil.

Put broccoli into the water and boil for 2-3 minutes.

Pour out water and serve broccoli topped with ~1 tablespoon of oyster sauce.

Leave a Reply

