Garlic Broccoli

Today is the last night I’m in a hotel. Tomorrow I move into my apartment! Yay! As a tribute to the little kitchen in my hotel room, I’m posting a simple simple recipe for garlic broccoli with carrots that I ate pretty much every night here.

Confession: I love broccoli. When I was younger it was one of the two vegetables I ate (the other was green beans). The weird thing is when I was younger, I only liked the stems and my brother only liked the florets. We evened each other out pretty well. Now, not only do I like different kinds of vegetables, but I also like both the stems and the florets of broccoli.

This dish is a staple of my diet. Usually I’d add chicken, but I didn’t want to deal with it in the hotel. It’s great over rice or as a side to other main dishes.

Ingredients
1 crown broccoli, cut into pieces
1 carrot, sliced
vegetable oil
salt
garlic powder
soy sauce

Heat oil in a frying pan. When hot, add carrots and allow to cook for about a minute. Add a pinch of salt and a splash of water (around 2-3 tablespoons, but I don’t really measure). Cook for another 3-5 minutes.

Add broccoli, stir and cook for another minute or so. Add another pinch of salt, more water (3-5 tablespoons I think), and sprinkle liberally with garlic powder (I usually do about 3-4 shakes of the bottle).

Cook until vegetables are tender. Add soy sauce (I would estimate around 3 tablespoons), stir, and cook for another few minutes to let the vegetables soak in the flavor.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Chinese “Broccoli” (Gai lan/jie lan/芥兰) « Are Yu Hungry?

Leave a Reply

