“Asian” Vegetable Pasta

So I officially finished my first week of work! I don’t do any real work yet though because I’m still in orientation and training. Actually, it’s a lot like being a freshman again. This past week reminded me strongly of First Days. Lots of new people (some of whom know each other already– i.e., similar to summer science/summer humanities people), lots of new information, getting lost on campus, etc.

I haven’t moved into my apartment yet (move in date: August 14th), so I’m currently living in a residence hotel. There’s a kitchen– it’s small, but it has a refrigerator and a stove, so I’ve been doing a little cooking! Mostly really simple things… often involving Ramen.

But I thought I’d share this because it’s really easy to make and turned out pretty well. I put “Asian” in quotation marks because it certainly isn’t real Asian food. It has Asian elements (vegetables/flavoring) but authentic Asian food does not have rotini or (Western) broccoli in it.

Ingredients:
1 broccoli crown, cut into florets
1 carrot, sliced
3 stalks of 油菜 (Mandarin: youcai, Cantonese: yauchoy), chopped into (approx) 1″ pieces
1/2 lb of pasta (I used rotini)
Lee Kum Kee Black Bean Garlic Sauce (first mentioned in this post)
vegetable oil
salt
garlic powder

Boil water and cook pasta until al dente.

In a non-stick frying pan, heat 1-2 tablespoons of oil. When oil is hot, add carrots. Cook for a few minutes, then add broccoli. Sprinkle with salt and garlic powder, and add some water (about 1/4 cup). Cook until tender.

Add 油菜 to the pan and continue to cook. Add pasta and stir until well-mixed. Add 2 spoonfuls of the black bean garlic sauce and stir until the sauce is evenly spread.

Cook on low heat for a few more minutes to let the pasta/vegetables absorb the flavor of the sauce.

Leave a Reply

