Double Chocolate Espresso Sandwich Cookies with Peanut Butter Filling

Today’s the day! Today is the last recipe I have in my arsenal. So after today I won’t be posting until I try something new. Sadness. I know you’ll all miss me.

But! Today’s recipe is a good one! I made these with my friend at her house when I was in Singapore. You can just just from the name that these cookies are intense. For those of you out there who don’t like coffee, don’t worry I couldn’t even taste the coffee… in fact, I’m pretty sure it can be omitted. For those of you who like coffee (or are addicts like me), don’t worry chocolate and peanut butter are a good enough combination to make up for the fact that you can’t taste the coffee.

I ended up making a decent amount of changes, mostly to simplify/shorten the preparation, but they were still delicious!

Recipe adapted from Jules Food.

Ingredients
For the cookies:
1 stick (8 tbsp) unsalted butter, softened
2/3 cup granulated sugar
¼ cup firmly packed brown sugar
1 large egg
¼ tsp vanilla extract
1 cup flour
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp instant coffee
¾ cup milk chocolate chips

For the filling:
1 cup powdered sugar
1/2 stick (4 tbsp) softened unsalted butter
1/2 cup creamy peanut butter

Preparation
In a large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugars with a hand mixer. Fold in egg and vanilla extract. Slowly mix in flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, salt and coffee. Stir in chocolate chips.

On a greased baking sheet, spoon out heaping teaspoons of dough and form flat discs. Bake at 350F for 8-10 minutes.

Meanwhile, in another bowl, mix all ingredients for filling together.

When cookies have cooled, assemble sandwiches.

Makes around 20-25 sandwiches (40-50 cookies).

Leave a Reply

