Butterfinger Brownies

I made it to Madison on Wednesday evening and since then I’ve been running around trying to get things ready. I opened a new bank account (since my bank back home doesn’t exist here), I got a car (!! more to come later on that), got a car insurance/renter’s insurance policy (ugh), and furniture to be delivered later to my apartment.

It’s super weird to think that I’m starting work on Monday. That my parents leave on Sunday and I’m on my own. That I won’t be going back to school in the fall. It’s all very exciting/scary…

Ok. Onward to the recipe, which is the second-to-last recipe I have in my collection (gasp). It was this recipe that caused me to calculate volume and discover that by doubling a recipe for an 8×8 pan, it’s about right for a 9×13 pan. Of course I made some adjustments. I didn’t have enough chocolate chips so I ended up using some white chocolate chips, I decided to use 1 1/2 stick of butter instead of 2 whole sticks, and other small adjustments like that.

The result was really thick, chewy brownies. Definitely a recommended recipe.

Recipe adapted from Becky Bakes.

Ingredients
6 oz semisweet chocolate chips
6 oz white chocolate chips
1 1/2 sticks butter
5 tbsp cocoa powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
5 eggs
2 cups sugar
3 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup peanut butter
1 tsp salt
a little less than 2 cups flour
16 fun-sized Butterfingers coarsely chopped

Preparation
Preheat oven to 350F. Spray a 9×13 pan with non-stick cooking spray.

In a microwave safe bowl, microwave chocolate chips and butter (cut into pieces) for 45 seconds. Mix and microwave in 30 second intervals, mixing in between until completely melted. Stir in cocoa powder and baking soda.

In a separate bowl, beat eggs, sugar, vanilla extract, peanut butter and salt together. Whisk in melted chocolate mix. Stir in flour until just mixed. Fold in Butterfinger pieces.

Pour batter into the 9×13 pan and spread until even. Bake at 350F for 45-50 minutes or until a toothpick or fork inserted into the center comes out mostly clean.

Cool (30-40 minutes) and cut into squares.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jimi
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 01:46:31

    Haha, like how you give mini updates before your recipes. Yup, cars are fun but not the bills šŸ™‚ Enjoy! I’m making strawberry-banana bread this weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

