Kettlecorn

One day before I leave for Madison… I’ve been packing up my life… or rather the “essentials” of life. We’re taking a sedan, so I have very limited space. Anything non-essential will be shipped later. After I start work, I probably won’t be updating this for a while.

I am so not ready for real life.

So to momentarily procrastinate from packing, I’m posting my next recipe. I’ve actually had this recipe for awhile, but totally forgot about it. My friend and I both really like kettlecorn and wanted to try this recipe because let’s face it– microwave kettlecorn is pretty atrocious. So we got the ingredients (during Winter Study I think)… and then like 3-4 months later actually tried the recipe.

I actually ended up blending recipes from Dine & Dish and Tiny Urban Kitchen.

I used the ingredients and cooking technique from Tiny Urban Kitchen but the measurements from Dine & Dish… and have tried some other variations too. But this is what seemed to work best.

Thing to note:
-it is essential if you have a lid, that it fits tightly. The first time I tried with a lid that was too big and the popcorn kernels will start flying out the sides.
– if you don’t have a fitting lid, you can use a double layer of aluminum foil. It has to be a double layer because the popcorn kernels will start to fly and will actually poke holes in the aluminum foil.
– it’s a good idea to have oven mitts for the shaking, because it can get really hot. Especially if you’re using foil.

Ingredients
1/2 cup popcorn kernels
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup sugar
salt

Preparation
In a non-stick sauce pan or stock pot, heat oil with three kernels of popcorn, covered.

When the three kernels have popped, add the rest of the popcorn kernels and cover. When the kernels begin popping, add sugar, a few pinches of salt, and cover.

Alternate shaking pot for 3 seconds and letting the pot sit on the stove for 3 seconds until popcorn has mostly popped (you stop hearing popping for 5 or so consecutive seconds).

Remove from heat. Wait for any residual popping stops, then pour into a large serving bowl. When popcorn cools, break apart clumps.

Leave a Reply

