Cinnamon Swirl Bread

I’m leaving MA tomorrow for Madison, WI. I start work on Monday, August 1. I’m going to be a real person… so soon. I’m mostly packed, but I have this nagging feeling I’m forgetting something important…

As for the bread, I’m not sure why I decided to make it. I have seriously no recollection of how I found it or why I made it. My best guess is that I wanted to bake something and I happened to have all the ingredients. Which probably means I didn’t have any chocolate.

What I remember about the recipe:
– I baked it too long, so it was slightly dry
– cinnamon sugar doesn’t bake well (should have made streusel instead)
– despite the things mentioned above, the bread was still good

Recipe from Recipe from Mangio da Sola.

Ingredients
1/3 cup sugar
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 cup sugar
2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 egg
1 cup milk
1/3 cup vegetable oil

Preparation
Preheat oven to 350F. Spray a bread loaf pan with cooking spray. Combine 1/3 cup of sugar and cinnamon in a bowl. Set aside.

Combine 1 cup sugar, flour, baking powder and salt in a bowl. In a separate bowl, beat the egg. Using a whisk, stir in milk and oil. Add to the dry mix and stir until just mixed.

Pour half the batter into the loaf pan. Sprinkle 1/3 of the cinnamon sugar mix on top. Pour the rest of the batter in. Sprinkle with another 1/3 of the cinnamon sugar. Using a knife, swirl the batter and cinnamon sugar mix together.

Top with last 1/3 of the cinnamon sugar mix. (Although a streusel like this would probably work better.)

Bake for 40-50 minutes or until done. Cool in the pan, then remove and slice.

Leave a Reply

