Brownie Cookies

Brownie cookies? I don’t get it. Are they brownies or are they cookies? Well, they’re both. They’re chocolatey and chewy like brownies, but they’re in cookie form.

I made these brownie cookies before meeting up with some friends in Boston for a weekend. As I mentioned before, my parents aren’t huge fans of chocolate, so usually if I make desserts with chocolate, I make them before meeting with friends so I know they’ll get eaten.

As usual, they were a hit among my friends and we spent the entire day munching on them. The brownie cookies are extremely rich and chocolatey, and aren’t terribly hard to make. The most time consuming part of the recipe for me was taking bars of baking chocolate and chopping them… and seeing as I ended up using 8 oz of unsweetened baking chocolate and 8 oz of semisweet chocolate instead of 16 oz unsweetened baking chocolate like the original, I probably could have saved some time by just using semisweet chocolate chips. Oh well.

Recipe from Tracy’s Culinary Adventures.

Ingredients
8 oz unsweeted baking chocolate, chopped
8 oz semisweet chocolate, chopped
1/2 stick unsalted butter
4 eggs
1 1/3 cups sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Preparation
Preheat oven to 350F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Melt chopped chocolate and butter in a bowl over a simmering pot of water. Stir occasionally until completely melted.

While chocolate is melting, whisk the eggs, vanilla and sugar together. In a separate, mix the flour and baking powder.

Add the melted chocolate/butter mix to the egg mixture and stir. Slowly add the flour mix and fold it into the batter. Add the chocolate chips.

Place tablespoons of the dough onto the baking sheet. Bake for 10-12 minutes.

Makes 20-24 cookies.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Yoon
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 04:46:32

    I SO enjoyed these 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

