Cream Puffs

I was chatting with a friend once online and she asked if she could make a request for my blog. I said yes, provided a) it didn’t look outrageously hard or burdensome to make and b) it was something that would actually get eaten in my house. The request was for a recipe for cream puffs. I’d never made cream puffs before, but I was a little nervous. Something about puffy, delicate pastry struck me as being difficult. But I looked up recipes and found a recipe from AllRecipes.com that had good ratings and looked simple enough. So check for part a. As for part b, my mom really likes cream puffs, so check on both accounts.

So I tried this recipe, and they were a hit in my house. I made 12 cream puffs, and they disappeared in 3 days. There are 3 people in my house, and I only had one or two, so that left around 10 that got finished by 2 people in 3 days. You do the math.

What I didn’t know was that my friend in Singapore also REALLY likes cream puffs. When I visited her over the last two weeks, I noticed that whenever we passed a cream puff stand, we would almost always stop to get one. So this post is dedicated to her and her love of cream puffs. I hope this recipe is up to your cream puff standards!

Ingredients
1 (3.5 oz) package instant vanilla pudding mix
1 cup heavy cream
1/2 cup milk
1/2 stick butter
1/2 cup water
1/8 tsp salt
1 cup flour
1 tbsp sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
3 eggs

Preparation
Preheat oven to 425F.

Whisk pudding mix, cream and milk together and put in the refrigerator to set.

Heat water and butter to a boil. Pour into a large mixing bowl, add flour, salt, sugar and vanilla extract and mix well. Allow mix to cool, then add eggs and blend with a hand mixer.

Use a teaspoon to place heaping spoonfuls of dough on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake at 425F for 12-15 minutes or until golden brown. In the last few minutes of baking, use a toothpick to poke a hole in the back.

Cool the puffs slowly by leaving them in the oven with the door ajar. Once the puffs have cooled, split them open and spoon the cream in.

Makes about 12 puffs.

Leave a Reply

