Pad See Ew

I’m currently stuck at San Francisco airport. I left Singapore at 8am yesterday, took a 7 hour flight to Tokyo, then took a 9 hour flight to SF. My flight was supposed to be at 2pm (PST)… but it got delayed. It’s currently 3:20pm and my flight’s scheduled to take off at 4:20. But it’s been delayed at least twice now, so I’m not sure how optimistic to be. Anyway, the hope is to be back in Boston at about 1am.

I guess since I’m stuck here and I have wifi, might as well post the next recipe on the list. In W-town there are only a handful of restaurants. One of the favorites among students and professors is a Thai/Japanese place called Sushi Thai (original right?). And (almost) every time I go I order the same thing: Pad See Ew. So delicious.

When I graduated it was kind of weird to think that I wouldn’t be able to get it anymore. Then my friend (the one who writes Dorset Kitchen) posted a recipe for it and I gave it a look. I adapted it a bit (like, say, adding meat) and sort of combined the recipes from Dorsey Kitchen and Rachel Cooks Thai, and ended up with an ok approximation.

The major problem was I couldn’t find flat wide rice noodles anywhere. The flavor was good, but the texture of the noodles was just wrong. I think it would work much better with the right noodles.

PS– if this post is mildly incoherent I apologize… I haven’t slept in a while.

Ingredients
1 crown broccoli, cut into florets
2 carrots, sliced thinly
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 eggs
2 tbsp soy sauce
2 tbsp oyster sauce
3 tsp sugar
2 tsp vinegar
1/2 chicken breast, sliced thinly
JES Yakitori sauce
garlic and/or onion powder
salt
soy sauce
vegetable oil
cornstarch
8 oz dried, flat rice noodles

Preparation Marinate chicken with vegetabe oil, soy sauce, garlic (and/or onion powder), and salt. (See this post for *slightly* better instructions).

Cook noodles as directed on package. Toss with a little bit of oil so they won’t stick together and set aside.

Mix soy sauce, oyster sauce, sugar and vinegar together and set aside.

Crack eggs in a bowl, add a pinch of salt and soy sauce, beat and set aside.

Heat oil in a non-stick frying pan and saute garlic. Add broccoli and carrots, sprinkle with salt and add (approx) 1/4 cup of water. Cook until broccoli and carrots reach your desired tenderness.

Add noodles and sauce and fry on high heat, allowing the noodles to char a little. Make a space in the pan and add the eggs. Scramble them and mix in with the noodles.

Remove the noodles from heat and place in a serving dish. Add more oil to the frying pan, add chicken in a single layer in the pan and allow to brown until the side faving upward begins to change color. Turn and cook the other side, then add enough Yakitori sauce to cover the chicken and stir. Remove from heat and top noodles with chicken.

Leave a Reply

