Turkey Avocado Melt

So I’m headed to Hong Kong early tomorrow morning (in about 13 hours) and will be there for 4 days, so no updates for a little while (try not to miss me too much, haha).

In the meantime, to make up for yesterday’s post (my guess is you didn’t try it), here’s something that truly is delicious. Interestingly enough, it wasn’t until a year or two ago that I started to like avocado. But now I love it. Especially in guacamole. In this recipe, I don’t use a whole lot of stuff because I didn’t really have anything in the house. Normally I’d add real onions, real garlic, and some diced tomatoes. But for a guacamole recipe that doesn’t require any dicing or mincing, it tasted pretty darn good.

One more thing to note. Since this only calls for half an avocado, I’ve found that the best way to preserve the other half is to wrap it in plastic wrap such that there is no air between the plastic wrap and the avocado. So don’t pull it tight, but let it bunch up around the pit to fill any gaps. This should keep it from turning brown. I’ve heard lemon/lime juice helps too.

Anyway, hope you enjoy this!

Ingredients
1/2 avocado
garlic powder
onion powder
salt
lime juice
2 slices smoked turkey breast
2 slices bread
1 slice cheese
butter

Preparation
To make simple guacamole:
Spoon out avocado into a bowl and use the spoon to mash it. Add a dash of lime juice and salt, garlic powder, and onion powder to taste (I use a fair amount).

Spread guacamole on a slice of bread. Place turkey, then cheese and top with second slice of bread.

Melt butter in a non-stick frying pan. When hot, grill sandwich until cheese is melted and both sides are golden brown.

Leave a Reply

