Blackberry Cream Cheese Brownies

Well this is it! The last recipe from my old site (which in about a year will no longer exist)! Of course I still have over a dozen recipes queued up (yes, I used queued) so never fear this is not the end of my blog!

I will be traveling to Hong Kong from the 14th-18th though (read: not bringing laptop, so no new posts), and then once I start work on August 1st my guess is that I won’t be able to keep up with the one-a-day speed. Sadface. Have patience, I’ll get to it when I can.

Anyway. I think I made these over spring break when my home time happened to overlap with a friend from home’s. The original called for raspberry jam, but we only had blackberry jam and orange marmalade, so we went with the blackberry. Also, this recipe called for an 8×8 square pan (that you all should know by now I don’t own) and rather than double it and use a 9×13 pan (which would have been the smart thing to do), we used what I think was a 6×8 pan (why my friend owned a 6×8 pan I don’t really know).

The result was very thick brownies that rose above the edge of the pan and collapsed in the middle. Oops. Oh well, they still tasted good.

Recipe from Please Pass the Pie.

Ingredients
For the filling:
8 oz neufchatel cheese (or cream cheese), softened
1/4 cup sugar
1 large egg yolk
3/4 tsp vanilla extract

For the brownies:
2/3 cup flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
8 tbsp unsalted butter, cut into pieces
4 oz unsweetened chocolate, chopped
1/2 cup blackberry jam
1 1/4 cups sugar
2 large eggs
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Preparation
Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease an 8×8 pan. Blend all the filling ingredients together.

Combine the flour, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl. In a large bowl, microwave the butter and chocolate together in short intervals, stirring frequently, until melted. Mix in half (1/4 cup) of the jam and let cool slightly. Add sugar, eggs (plus the remaining egg white from the filling), and vanilla extract. Slowly whisk in the flour mixture until no white streaks remain.

Microwave the remaining jam and stir until smooth. Using a spatula, scrape half of the brownie batter into the pan. Spread cream cheese filling evenly over the batter. Spoon jam on the cream cheese mixture and use a knife to swirl. Spread the remainder of the brownie batter over the top.

Bake 50-60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out dry.

Leave a Reply

