Baked Ziti

So I’m sitting in the dark in my friend’s room in Singapore. I’ve been having some minor bouts of jetlag. The first full day I was here I passed out from 3pm-6pm. The second full day (yesterday) I actually made it through the day with only 2 cups of coffee. It seemed like I had adjusted. Of course that was a lie. I woke up this morning at 5:30am and haven’t been able to get back to sleep since.

Anyway. Let’s talk baked ziti. As I mentioned in my Boursin Mac and Cheese post, I only make recipes like that when I’m at home or for big luncheons because it’d take me weeks to finish on my own. This recipe is like that too. A friend suggested that recipes like these can be scaled down to an 8×8 pan… that definitely works. In a few weeks (probably) I’ll post a recipe for Butterfinger brownies where I did the opposite– scaled a recipe for an 8×8 pan up to a recipe for a 9×13 pan by *roughly* doubling everything. Here’s the one problem: I don’t own an 8×8 pan. I suppose this could be easily solved by buying one though.

Anyway. I got this recipe from Allrecipes and at first was a little skeptical because it called for sour cream. But it turned out to be quite good. I think the sour cream keeps it from getting dried out… or something. Also, I didn’t use jarred spaghetti sauce (I only use that if I’m really desperate for time) but I can’t for the life of me remember where I got the recipe for the sauce. Undoubtedly also from Allrecipes, but from which specific recipe, I have no clue.

Ingredients
For the sauce:
1 small onion, diced
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 lb ground beef
29 oz canned, diced tomatoes in juice
6 oz canned tomato paste
1 tbsp chopped basil
1 tp dried oregano
2 tbsp brown sugar
1 1/2 tp salt

For the rest:
1 lb box of dried ziti (I think I used penne…)
6 oz sliced provolone cheese
12 oz sour cream
6 oz shredded mozzarella cheese

Preparation
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and butter a 9×13 pan.

In a skillet, brown ground beef, onions and garlic. Once browned, drain excess oil.

Add diced tomatoes, tomato paste, brown sugar, basil, oregano, and salt. Simmer for 30-45 minutes.

While sauce is simmering, cook pasta in salted water until al dente. Drain.

Combine half the pasta and half the sauce in the 9×13 pan. Add slices of provolone cheese in a single layer. Spread sour cream over provolone cheese. Add the rest of the pasta and sauce on the sour cream, and top with shredded mozzarella.

Bake, covered with aluminum foil, at 350 degrees for 35 minutes. Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

