Boursin Macaroni and Cheese

Anyone who knows me knows that I like to put garlic in everything. Almost all of my recipes (unless they’re dessert ones) involve garlic or garlic powder. So when I saw a macaroni and cheese recipe that uses Boursin cheese, I knew it had to be good.

I have another friend who hates garlic. I’m not sure how we stay friends. Anyway. I made this mac and cheese for a church luncheon in W-town and even my garlic hating friend thought it was good. The garlic is subtle… not too overpowering. It’s cheesy, it’s garlicky, it’s crispy on top and creamy in the middle. All in all a really good recipe.

The one problem I have with most of these recipes that I post, is that they all make many servings. Usually not a problem if I’m making it for my family or for a luncheon, but I can’t make these just for myself. A 9×13 pan of mac and cheese or baked ziti or lasagna would last me weeks. It’s really hard to scale them down… plus I don’t own a pan that’s smaller than 9×13. Anyone have any ideas?

Recipe from Kitchen of Friends.

Ingredients
1 box (1 lb) pasta
2 tbsp butter
2 tbsp flour
1 cup seasoned breadcrumbs
2 cups milk
1/2 package (80g) Boursin cheese with garlic and herbs
3/4 cups shredded white cheddar cheese
1/2 cup shredded Parmesan cheese

Preparation
Preheat oven to 350F.

Cook pasta in salted water until al dente. Drain and set aside.

Melt butter in a saucepan and add flour, whisking constantly over medium heat until mix forms a consistent paste. Gradually add milk and continue whisking. Bring mix to a boil, then simmer on low heat for 5 minutes.

After simmering, remove from heat and add all cheeses, mixing until sauce reaches an even consistency.

Mix sauce and pasta together, then pour mix into a 9×13 pan.

Spread breadcrumbs evenly on top and bake for 10 minutes or until breadcrumbs begin to brown.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Running Jimi
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 15:58:37

    An 8 x 8 pan is roughly half the volume of a 9 x 13. So, halving all the ingredients for a 9 x 13 recipe should work quite nicely for an 8 x 8. I’ve scaled up and down with great results. Unfortunately, I don’t have any better ideas beyond suggesting you get an 8 x 8. You could very well halve the ingredients and still use a 9 x 13, but you would have to adjust cooking times accordingly for a smaller depth.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Baked Ziti « Are Yu Hungry?
  3. Trackback: Kimchi Omelet | Are Yu Hungry?

Leave a Reply

