Southwestern Eggrolls

Whenever I see adds on tv for the “triple dipper” meal at Chilis I always want to go there. The triple dipper is a meal made up of three kinds of appetizers, and I like it because then I can order southwestern eggrolls (which no one else in my family really likes).

So then I wondered if I could make them myself, and started looking up recipes. I found this one from Chat & Chew but I made the unfortunate mistake of getting spring roll skins and not eggroll ones. Personally, the taste of spinach was too strong for my liking, and when I was baking them, they inexplicable started smoking and set off the smoke detector in my house (luckily I was home alone and I just opened the window and the alarm stopped).

The funniest part of the story is that while I wasn’t the biggest fan of them, my parents actually liked them and finished them for me. Haha. Funny how these things work out sometimes.

In my opinion, they need more spice.

Ingredients
1 can (15 oz) corn, drained
1 can (15 oz) black beans, drained
1 package (10 oz) frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry
2 cups shredded Mexican cheese blend
1 can (4-5 oz) chopped green chiles, drained
2 teaspoons chili powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
20 spring roll/egg roll wrappers

Preparation
Preheat oven to 425 degrees(F).

In a large bowl, combine everything except for the wrappers. Place 1/4 cup of the mixture in a wrapper. Fold 3 corners of the wrapper in, over the filling and roll up towards the last corner.

Grease a pan and place each roll seam-side down on the pan. Spray tops lightly with cooking spray. Bake for 10-15 minutes until lightly browned. Turn halfway through.

Serve hot with salsa.

Leave a Reply

