White Chocolate Toffee Oatmeal Cookies (aka “Crack Cookies”)

These cookies are AMAZING. Honestly. A huge shout out to the author of Crepes of Wrath for a fantastic recipe. I first made these at a friend’s house over spring break. They were so good that I made them for a coffeehouse benefit concert for Haiti and they disappeared so fast I don’t think I even got one.

Ever since then, I’ve made them for various occasions and everyone absolutely loves them. I nicknamed them “crack cookies” because these things are really freakin’ addictive. Storytime!

In the summer of 2009, I brought a double batch of these cookies to school when I visited for graduation weekend. A bunch of us decided to go to get slushies so we took two cars. I had a van-load of people and the other car had two guys and the gallon size ziplock bag full of cookies. The place that sells the slushies is about one mile from campus. When we got there, only crumbs remained in the bag. It was astonishing.

The morals of the story are (a) boys eat a LOT and (b) these cookies are crazy good.

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup (2 sticks) softened butter
1 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 cups Quaker Oats (old fashioned – NOT instant)
1 1/3 cup white chocolate chips
2/3 cup Heath chocolate covered toffee pieces

Preparation
Preheat oven to 350F. Combine the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt in a medium bowl and set aside.

In a large bowl, beat together the butter and sugars until light and fluffy, at least 4 minutes. Add the eggs one at a time, followed by the vanilla and beat well.

Slowly add the flour mixture to the butter mixture and beat together until just moistened. Stir in your oats, then stir in your white chocolate chips and toffee bits. (At this point the dough usually gets so thick I just wash my hands and stick ’em right in there).

Drop the dough by spoonfuls onto greased and/or lined cookie sheets. Bake the cookies 10 to 12 minutes or until light golden brown (mine took about 11 minutes). Cool for a bit on the cookie sheets before transferring elsewhere to cool.

Now also posted at:

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa @ Sweet as Sugar Cookies
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 07:34:47

    Cookies like this sound almost too delicious to be true. How addicting. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog till Monday night and I’d love it if you’d come by and link your cookies up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/06/sweets-for-saturday-23.html

    Reply

  2. Sanghamitra Bhattacherjee
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 08:05:32

    It is totally new for me. I’ll give it a try. My children will love it. Looks so yummy. Thanks for sharing:)
    Hope to see you on my blog:)

    Reply

  3. Trackback: “Better than Crack” Brownies « Are Yu Hungry?

Leave a Reply

