Chicken with Snowpeas

To the best of my recollection (which doesn’t mean much), I tried this recipe the summer of 2010. I was working at Tufts but living at home and needed a hobby to keep myself *relatively* sane. In fact, I think that summer I started documenting all the recipes that appear (or will eventually appear) in this blog.

This recipe came from My Kitchen Addiction, and I picked it because it seemed like something my parents would actually like. The first time I made it, I didn’t cook the snowpeas long enough and they were too crispy. They weren’t too pleased with that. But the next time I made it I adjusted my cooking methods and it turned out much better.

Also, as an aside note, you can substitute snowpeas with string beans and it turns out pretty well too.

Ingredients
1-2 tablespoon hoisin sauce
1-2 tablespoon chili sauce
garlic powder
salt
vegetable oil
cornstarch
soy sauce
1 pound boneless, skinless chicken tenders, cut into thin strips
2 large cloves garlic, minced
6 ounces snow peas, trimmed
1 small onion, sliced

Preparation

Marinate chicken with vegetable oil, soy sauce, garlic powder (and/or onion powder), salt, and cornstarch. (See this post for *slightly* better instructions)

Heat oil a large skillet over medium heat. Add garlic and onions and saute until soft (onions start to become translucent). Add snowpeas and some water and stir fry until tender. Remove from pan and set aside. Heat more oil in the skillet and add chicken in a single layer and stir fry until cooked. Add snowpeas/onions mix back in.

Add hoisin sauce and chili sauce. If you don’t like spicy food you might want to use a bit less chili sauce, and if you really like spicy food or you’re Korean (haha jk), you might want to add a bit more. Simmer for a few minutes to let the vegetables and chicken soak in the flavor.

Serve with white rice.

Leave a Reply

